Close Panel
Wimbledon Channel

Qualifying begins: 26 June

The Draw: 30 June

Pre-event Press Conferences: 1 & 2 July

Order of Play: 2 July

Championships begin: 3 July


Menu uses cookies.
We use simple text files called cookies, saved on your computer, to help us deliver the best experience for you. Click continue to acknowledge that you are happy to receive cookies from
CONTINUE > Find out more
Visitor A to Z
Officials cover more than 650 matches during The Championships. READ MORE

- There are 369 officials at The Championships working as chair umpires and line umpires (345) or off-court staff (24). These officials cover more than 650 matches played during the Fortnight across 18 courts.

- There are 240 British officials, all members of ABTO (Association of British Tennis Officials) and approximately 70 overseas officials from all over the world, including the team of six ITF/Grand Slam Chair Umpires that officiate at all four Grand Slams and two ATP Full Time Officials.

- Around 42 chair umpires are assigned each day, with the other officials working as Line Umpires. Chair Umpires normally umpire two matches a day, although not necessarily on the same court. Line Umpires work in teams and there are two line teams per court. These line teams work on a timed rotation (75 minutes on, 75 minutes off), with nine Line Umpires per team on court officiating on Centre Court, No. 1 Court, No. 2 Court, No.3 Court and Court 18, and seven line umpires on the other courts.

- The Chief Umpire, Adrian Wilson, is responsible for the organisation of umpires for The Championships. His role is to assign and supervise all of the officials each day. A custom-made computer system and a team of assistants help this process.

- Chair Umpires use computers to score the match, with each point scored being displayed automatically on Net cord machines are used by the Chair Umpire on all courts, and the Hawk-Eye electronic system is used on Centre, No.1, No.2 and No.3 Courts to allow line calls to be reviewed.

Purchase Towels